This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z Basics: Library Toolbox" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Benedictine University Library

A-Z Basics: Library Toolbox  

Learn about BenU Library policies, services, and resources at a glance.
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ben.edu/toolbox Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is in this guide?

Ben U Library Toolbox

Learn about BenU Library policies, services, and resources at a glance. Information is arranged alphabetically.

Can't find what you're looking for? Use the Search box above to search across all of our Research Guides or contact us. We're here to help!

 

Contact Us

Phone:

Lisle: (630) 829-6057

Springfield: (217) 718-5011

Mesa: (877) 575-6050

Live Chat: Chat with a Librarian

Email: libref@ben.edu

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram

 

A

Archives & Special Collections

The University Archives contains over 700 linear feet of Benedictine University's history, publications, records, theses, and memorabilia. Special Collections contains almost 3,000 rare books and periodicals as well as maps, prints, manuscripts, photographs, and memorabilia covering people and organizations related to the University, its programs of study, and local history.

Assistive technology

All Library computers run Windows 7, which includes the following accessibility features: Magnifier, Narrator, and On-Screen Keyboard. The Library also has scanners. See Scanning below.

 

C

Cell Phone Policy

The Benedictine University Library discourages the use of cell phones in the Library. The users of the library want an environment conducive to reading, study, research, consultation, and quiet collaboration. All library users and staff are expected to respect those who desire quiet to conduct their library activities. When entering the library, please set cell phones, pagers, and other electronic devices to silent or vibrate mode. Users engaging in disruptive cell phone conversations in public and staff areas will be asked by library staff to move to one of the designated cell phone zones or outside. Please do not use cell phones while receiving help at a public service desk.

On the Lisle campus, cell phone use is not permitted on the Lower Level of the Library. The 2nd floor and 3rd floors of the Library have designated the stairwells as “Phone Zones” where quiet conversations are allowed. Use of cell phones is only permitted in the stairwells.

When using a cell phone, please keep conversations to a minimum and voices quiet so that other students are not disturbed.

Chat with a Librarian

Chat reference is a real-time two way conversation between you and a librarian through a chat box located on the Library website. Questions are answered immediately and are usually short answer. Chat reference is offered to the students, staff and faculty of Benedictine University. For chat hours, see the Hours of Operation.

Citation guides and manuals

Get help with APA, MLA, CSE and more.

Computer Use

See the Benedictine University Information Technology's Acceptable Use Policy. In addition to this policy, the Library maintains the following policies:

  1. Computers are located on the lower level lab (room 30), the second floor lab (room 232) and third floor of the library. These computers are for general student use, and are available on a first come, first served basis. The computers in the labs on the lower level and second floor can be used for collaborative work (two people only.) Conversation should be kept to a minimum so that other students are not disturbed.
  2. Just as the "University reserves the right to judge the appropriateness of material displayed on public workstations" (as stated in the University IT's Acceptable Use Policy), Library staff shall be the final arbiter of whether a patron's use of Library technology resources is appropriate to the Library.
  3. Visitors, including Benedictine University alumni, students and faculty from CARLI member institutions and the general public are welcome to use Benedictine Library computers. Visitors served by other libraries are nonetheless expected to use their home library for in-depth instruction or detailed help with research topics.
    • Visitors may use the computers on the third floor only. All other computers are for Benedictine University students, staff, and faculty only.
    • Visitors must sign in with the Research Librarian on the third floor, and agree to the Benedictine University Acceptable Use Policy.
    • Printing is available for the convenience of visitors. The charge to visitors for printing is 5 cents per page which is payable to the Research Librarian.
    • Visitors under the age of 18 who wish to use the Internet must be accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older. In addition, parents are responsible for the behavior of their children.
    • Visitors are expected to practice the same consideration toward other library users and library staff that is asked of members of the Benedictine University community.

Conduct Expectations

Users are expected to respect the needs of others and to behave legally, ethically, and responsibly with regard to their use of library resources. Prohibited activities in the Benedictine University Library: Excessive noise (loud talking, use of audible radios, CD players, cell phones); Eating, drinking (except from covered containers), chewing tobacco or smoking; Use of scooters, skateboards, rollerblades or other such devices; Vending, peddling, solicitation or petitioning. Violation of U.S. Copyright Law; Blocking entrances, exits or aisles; Harassment of library users and staff; Removal of library property without proper checkout or authorization; Entering unauthorized areas, and/or interfering with library staff in the performance of their duties; Entering or remaining in the library after hours; Altering or damaging library buildings, furniture, materials or equipment, including computer systems, networks, programs or data. (See Library Computer Use Policy); Disorderly, disruptive or threatening behavior including: threats of violence, violence, abusive language, or possession of weapons; Sexual offenses including, but not limited to harassment, indecent exposure, unwanted touching, and inappropriate sexual advances; Library staff members have the right to ask library users to produce identification for various services or for violation of policies.

Library users who violate any of these policies may lose their privileges to use the Benedictine University Library, be subject to University-imposed discipline, and/or be subject to criminal prosecution or other legal action, as appropriate.

 

D

 

E

eBooks

Employment opportunities

The library routinely hires student workers at the beginning of the Fall and Spring undergraduate semesters. Positions occasionally open during other times of the year.

 

F

Fair Use

Fair use is any copying of copyrighted material based on the belief that the public is entitled to freely use portions of copyrighted materials for purposes of commentary and criticism. Such uses can be done without permission from the copyright owner. In short fair use is a defense against a claim of copyright infringement. If your use qualifies as a fair use, then it would not be considered an illegal infringement.

Fines and fees

Food and Drink Policy

Benedictine University Library's Food & Drink Policy is intended to preserve library materials, computer equipment, and furnishings, and to maintain a pleasant and comfortable environment for our students and staff. Your help in this effort is greatly appreciated.

Lower Level (Lisle campus): Consumption of food and drinks will not be allowed. Beverages in containers with caps or closed lids are permitted as long as the beverage is not consumed in the library space.

Second Floor and Third Floor (Lisle campus): Covered drinks and snacks are permitted. Snacks include chips, cookies and other small bags of food. Pease dispose of all trash in the proper containers.

Full-Text

Many databases contain the full text of the article within them -- look for links similar to "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text."

Find Full Text

 

G

Government publications

Group Study Rooms

On the Lisle campus, Study Room reservations may be made for the same day by calling or emailing the Circulation Desk (630-829-6050 / circdesk@ben.edu). Reservations are made for two-hour blocks, renewable in one-hour increments only if no patrons are waiting or have a reservation for that following hour. All students using a Study Room must show IDs at the Circulation Desk when arriving to use the room. Patrons may use empty Study Rooms without a reservation but may be asked to leave at any time if a group reserves the space. Students needing a room should always stop and ask at the Circulation Desk (or call or -mail), even if the rooms all appear to be occupied.

 

H

 

I

ID number (Library ID number)

Your library ID number is the 14 digit number located under the barcode on the back of your BenCard. It begins with 2281100 and ends with your 7 digit b-number. You will need this number when you check out items and sign up for an I-Share account.

BenCard

Instruction (Library Instruction Program)

Instructional Materials Collection (IMC)

The Instructional Materials Collection includes K-12 curriculum-related materials, including textbooks and children's books. The loan period of Instructional Materials Collection items in one week.

Instructional Materials Collections

Interlibrary loan

 

J

 

M

My Account

How to register for and use your I-Share account to borrow books from other libraries, renew materials and more.

 

N

New materials

On the Lisle campus, you can browse a display of some of our new books up on the 3rd floor of the Library. Would you like to borrow an item from the display? Take it to the Librarian on duty in the Research Center who will check it out to you. You'll need your BenCard to check out the item.

New Books Display

News (Library News) 

News blog

 

O

Off-campus access

To access Library databases, ILLiad, or eReserves, log in using your BU Login if prompted to do so. Your BU Login is the same username and password that you use to access MyBenU and your Benedictine University email account. If you don't know your password, reset it here.

 

P

Page Service

On the Lisle campus, to request an item from the stacks when the Lower Level is closed, ask the librarian at the Research Center on the 3rd Floor. You will need your BenCard to check out the item.

Popular Film Collection

On the Lisle campus, the Popular Film Collection is located on the Lower Level of Kindlon Hall to the right of the Library Circulation Desk.

Popular Film Collection

Preservation of library materials

If you come upon any library materials you believe need to be repaired, please hand them to a Circulation Desk staff member.

Please avoid the following conditions and common sources of damage to library books: Do not ever write in books, not even in pencil. Moisture (including rain and spilled beverages) Using inappropriate materials as bookmarks, for example: Post-it notes; the adhesive substance used on post-it notes is acidic, can rip pages, and can lift text Paperclips; leave impressions and can rip pages Pencils (or anything thicker than a piece of paper); wedged between pages causes damage to the spine Rubber bands; leave damaging residue on pages and should not be used to hold pages back Folding the corners of pages (dog-earing) Damage caused by pets, rodents, and insects Stuffing books into an overfull book drop (if they don't go into the chute easily, return them at the Circulation desk).

Charges may be assessed at the discretion of the Library if any of the above conditions occur, even if accidental or inadvertent.

Printing

On the Lisle campus, there are two printers available on the 3rd Floor of Kindlon Hall and one printer available on the Lower Level. Printing is free for Benedictine University students. Color printing is not available in the Library.

 

R

RefWorks

Export database citations to RefWorks to generate bibliographies, footnotes, etc. into various styles - MLA, APA, CSE, and more

Research Basics

Research Guides

Help and research guides to help you locate information and to make the best use library materials and services

 

S

Scanning / Copying

On the Lisle campus, the Library has two Scan Stations. One is located near the Research Center on the 3rd Floor and the other is located in the computer lab on the Lower Level. Both stations include a flatbed scanner and a feed scanner. You can scan directly to USB, email, Google Drive, or printer.

Staff Directory

Streaming videos

To find streaming videos, search the BenU Library Catalog or access our streaming video collections here.

 

T

Take a Book, Leave a Book

In response to requests for popular reading material, and to answer the call to recycle, we offer this opportunity to exchange books. Books are yours to take and leave as you like, with no restrictions. The program works best if materials are both taken and donated. So, pass your books on! How does it work? Very simply!

  1. Take a book you are interested in reading. It is not necessary to donate a book in return.
  2. Keep the book if you would like, or return it when you have finished reading it to share with others.
  3. Donate a book you have finished reading. These books are located on the rotating bookcase just outside the lower level entrance to the Library.

Take a Book, Leave a Book

 

W

Wi-Fi

On the Lisle campus, Wi-Fi is available on all three levels of the Library. Wireless printing is not available at this time. At this time wireless printing is not available.

Writing Zone (Student Success Center)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip