Library Research Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian
Jump To: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | P | Q | R | S | T | W | YA
Annual Reviews
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Feb 15, 2012
Timely collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Art History
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Learn to locate and retrieve quality information for your research projects.
B
Bioethics
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
An interdisciplinary guide to resources in the life sciences, the health sciences, law and politics, philosopy and religious studies.
Biology
by Mary Ocasek
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Your place to find biology information from the library and beyond!
C
Chemistry
by Mary Ocasek
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Your source for chemistry information from the library and beyond!
Citation Guides & Style Manuals
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Citing or documenting the sources used in your research serves two purposes: it gives proper credit to the authors of the materials used, and it allows those who are reading your work to duplicate your research and locate the sources that you have listed.
Copyright
by Mary Ocasek
- Last Updated Apr 20, 2012
Information on how to legally use your resources
Critical Evaluation of Resources
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Use the resources in this guide to help you develop the skills to select the best books, journal ariticles, and web sites to support your research projects.
D
DVDs
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
A guide to the movies available in our Popular Films Collection.
E
Education
by Kent Carrico
- Last Updated Sep 13, 2011
Library support for undergraduate students in elementary education
F
G
H
I
J
JSTOR
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Jan 6, 2012
JSTOR is database that contains scholarly articles from all different disciplines and subject areas. Much of its content is available in full-text (although full-text of recent articles may not be available for a year or more).
L
Lexis-Nexis Academic
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.
LITR108: Springfield
by Eric Edwards
- Last Updated Apr 22, 2012
This guide provides information for students in sections of LITR 108 taught on the Springfield campus.
M
Marriage
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
Explore the Catholic Church's rich teaching on marriage
Medicine
by Mary Ocasek
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
One-stop shop for medical information and resources from the library and beyond!
N
Nutrition
by Mary Ocasek
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
How to find nutrition information at the library and beyond!
P
Popular vs. Scholarly Resources
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Your instructor has required that you use scholarly, peer-reviewed, academic resources for your research paper. This guide will help you to identify and locate these types of resources.
Primary Sources
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Locate primary source materials in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities
Project Muse
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Mar 9, 2012
Access full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles from arts, humanities and social science disciplines. Contains complete content of every article, including charts, graphics and images. Articles are available in both HTML or PDF format.
Q
QR Codes
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2012
Learn what they are and how to create and read them.
R
RefWorks
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
Export database citations to RefWorks to generate bibliographies, footnotes, etc. into various styles - MLA, APA, CSE, and more
Religious Studies
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Nov 11, 2010
This guide will help you conduct research on topics related to religion and theology.
S
Search Techniques
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
Techniques to help you identify, develop, and locate relevant resources on your research topic
Stat-USA
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2011
Stat-USA has ceased operation. Use this guide to locate statistical information previously offered in this database.
T
Theology of the Body
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Pope John Paul II devoted the first major teaching of his pontificate to calling everyone to an authentic understanding and living out of what it means to be created male and female in the image and likeness of God.
Topics
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Mar 20, 2012
A guide to help you select a research topic
W
WRIT102: Business
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Use this page to guide you through the steps of the research process. These steps will help you to locate and evaluate information for your research project and to document the sources you locate.
WRIT102: Literature
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Use this page to guide you through the steps of the research process. These steps will help you to locate and evaluate information for your research project and to document the sources you locate.
WRIT102: Science
by Mary Ocasek, Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Use this page to guide you through the steps of the research process. These steps will help you to locate and evaluate information for your research project and to document the sources you locate.
WRIT102: Social Science
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Use this page to guide you through the steps of the research process. These steps will help you to locate and evaluate information for your research project and to document the sources you locate.
Y
Year for Priests
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated May 11, 2012
Pope Benedict XVI has declared a Year for Priests beginning with the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus on June 19, 2009. The year will conclude in Rome with an international gathering of priests with the Holy Father from June 9-11, 2010.
Year of the Eucharist
by Joan Hopkins
- Last Updated Jun 2, 2011
The Diocese of Joliet will observe a special Year of the Eucharist beginning on Holy Thursday, April 1, 2010 with the Mass of the Lord’s Supper. This celebration will conclude on June 26, 2011 – the Solemnity of the Body and Blood of the Lord.
 Pamm Collebrusco |