Admin Sign In 

Popular vs. Scholarly Resources  Tags: popular scholarly peer_reviewed refereed ulrich's  

Your instructor has required that you use scholarly, peer-reviewed, academic resources for your research paper. This guide will help you to identify and locate these types of resources.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.ben.edu/PopularScholarly  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

What Is "Peer-review"?

Peer-review means that an has been evaluated by a group of subject experts prior to being published in a scholarly journal. 

The Peer-review process determines that articles published in academic journals meet a standard of accuracy, originality, and scholarly integrity.

  • Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.

  • Not every article published in a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed.  Book reviews, letters to the editor, etc. are not peer-reviewed.

  • Popular journals, are not peer-reviewed.

NOTE: Peer-review journals are also called scholarly, academic, or refereed journals,

 

 
 

Popular vs. Scholarly

What is the difference between articles published in popular magazines and those published in scholarly journals?

Popular (Magazines)

  • Audience: usually written by journalists or professional writers for a general audience
  • Length: usually shorter than scholarly journal articles
  • Author: journalist or professional writer; articles are not always signed
  • Style: easy to comprehend by the general reader

Here are some examples of popular magazines in our library collection:

Popular Magazines

Scholarly Journals

  • Audience: written for professionals, researchers, or scholars
  • Length: tend to be long articles supported by research and extensive bibliographies
  • Author: written by professionals, researchers, or scholars; are often refereed or peer reviewed (i.e. articles are reviewed by subject specialists before they are considered for publication)
  • Style: uses scholarly or technical language, not easily understood by the general reader

Note: Book reviews and editorials published in scholarly journals are not considered scholarly articles

Here are some examples of scholarly journals in our collection:

Scholarly Journals

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Distinguishing between popular and scholarly sources can be difficult. Fortunately, tools such as Ulrich's indicate which journals are Academic / Scholarly.

Ulrich's Periodical Directory

 

  • Link to Ulrich's  
    Ulrich's is comprehensive online directory that provides basic bibliographic and access information for almost all of the journals, magazines, and newspapers published worldwide. Ulrich's provides basic qualitative information about many of the periodicals (including target audience) and indicates if a publication is Academic / Scholarly and peer reviewed (refereed).
 

Librarian

Profile ImageJoan Hopkins
Contact Info:
Instruction Librarian
KN 241
(630) 829-6052
Send Email

Subjects:
Federal Government Publications, French Language & Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait