This is the "Start
Here!" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents   Tags: federal_government_documents, government_publications  

Information on how to locate and use federal and Illinois state documents
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.ben.edu/GovDocs Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Here! Print Page
  Search: 
 

Federal Digital System (FedSys)

FDSys

Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable you to retrieve Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.  Here you will be able to access full-text items such as statutes, bills, budgets, and Presidential documents.

 

More Government Search Engines

  • MetaLib
    MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
    More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s.
  • Data.gov
    Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.

The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal

USA.gov logo

USA.gov is the U.S. government’s official search engine. It is a comprehensive, searchable index of about 50 million pages from federal, state, local, territorial, and tribal websites.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Open CRS logo

These research reports by the staff of the Congressional Research Service cover all subject areas and are excellent overviews. Unfortunately there is not an official government site which offers access to the entire collection. 

James Jacobs at freegovinfo.info harvests the reports from several different sites and makes them available here. You can search his archive directly from the box below:


In addition, Stephen Young, librarian at Catholic University Law Library, has put together an annotated listing for LLRX.com of many of these different online collections.

Here are some major institutions working to make these valuable resources available:

U.S. Government Manual

The official handbook of the U. S. Federal Government

FedFlix

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip